When two become one

When two become one

This is post is basically just an update on my research for my two become one project. I found a variety of inspiration for my final images online, I found a website called whattheface.com that compares a celebrity to something they look like, it is extremely funny and helped me think outside the box when I was generating ideas. But mostly I found allot of inspiration from communicating with my peers; talking about our project and discussing each others ideas would spark more ideas in your head and it ended up being really helpful to me!

But for now I’m am going to discuss the words I was given and show some examples.

Words

I did individual research on each word and found out their meanings; although each word has a variation of different definitions I think the main thing about researching the words was finding the definition that I personally wanted to display in my image.

Wordplay:

1. Witty or clever verbal exchange; repartee.

2. The act or an instance such exchange.

3. Verbal wit based on the meanings of words; puns, clever repartee, etc.

4. A play on words; pun.

I liked the idea of the fourth definition because I think if I created an image that wasn’t all that understandable at first it would catch peoples attention. I liked the idea of creating my image with a double barrelled word for example; tongue-tied, knee-deep or french-fries.

Tension:

1. the act of stretching or the state or degree of being stretched.

2. mental or emotional strain; stress.

3. a situation or condition of hostility, suspense, or uneasiness.

4. (General Physics) physics a force that tends to produce an elongation of a body or structure.

5. (Knitting & Sewing) knitting the degree of tightness or looseness with which a person knits.

I love the idea of the third definition, creating a suspense image that makes the audience react.

Thought Provoking:

1. stimulating careful consideration or attention.” thought-provoking questions”

2. thought-provoking – stimulating interest or thought; “a challenging hypothesis”; “a thought-provoking book.”

I like the first definition because to me thought provoking would be an image that makes the viewer feel something when they see it.

Compare: 

1. To consider or describe as similar, equal, or analogous.

2. To examine in order to note the similarities or differences of.

3. To regard or represent as analogous or similar; like: the general has been compared to Napoleon.

4. To examine in order to observe resemblances or differences: to compare rum with gin.

5. To be of the same or similar quality or value.

I like the first definition for compare, it reminds me of whattheface.com how they relate a celebrity to another person or an object in a humorous way, I think that idea would be very effective.

Profound:

1. (Of a state, quality, or emotion) very great or intense

2. 
(Of a person or statement) having or showing great knowledge or insight.

3. Very deep.

4. 
the deepest part of something, especially the ocean.

I like the idea of the third definition here for profound, I think creating a very deep image would give the viewer emotion and be successful by doing so.

Contrast:

1. The act of contrasting; a setting off of dissimilar entities or objects.

2. The state of being contrasted: vivid.

3. A difference, especially a strong dissimilarity, between entities or objects compared.

4. One thing that is strikingly dissimilar to another.

5. The use of opposing elements, such as colors, forms, or lines, in proximity to produce an intensified effect in a work of art.

6. The difference in brightness between the light and dark areas of a picture, such as a photograph or video image.

7. Linguistics A difference between units, especially one that distinguishes meaning.

I think the fourth definition here would be great and easy to display using two juxtapose images.

Humorous:

1. Causing laughter and amusement; comic.

2. Having or showing a sense of humour.

I think of humour to be easy to create but its just coming up with that first initial idea. Gorilla advertisements have a lot of work I find humorous, I think once something is funny and clever people tend to like it straight away its just coming up with a lateral idea that not only I, but thats everyone else thinks is funny.

Explore Orientation:

1. The action of orienting someone or something relative to the points of a compass or other specified positions.

2. 
A person’s basic attitude, beliefs, or feelings in relation to a particular subject or issue.

3. 
Familiarisation with something.

I have to say this was a hard one to research I understand now new meanings of the word orientation. I found this definition ‘familiarisation with something’ and I instantly thought I could relate this to compare or even wordplay, I could place two things together that familiarise you with something well know maybe a celebrity with an easy name to illustrate like the queen.  

Explore Sequence:

1. A particular order in which related things follow each other.

2. 
A set of related events, movements, or items that follow each other in a particular pattern.

3. 
A part of a film dealing with one particular event or topic.

2. 
Play or record (music) with a sequencer.

For me I dont really want to base and image on this word I think its tough to find a definition you actually like the sound of, but maybe if I were to create one it could be two things that relate or link together, or is that just me being stupid?

I think after researching my words my favourites would be: Wordplay, tension, compare and thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

